University Council


The Lebanese French University comprises four colleges, College of Engineering and Computer Science, College of Law and International Relations, College of Business Administration and Economics, College of Education and Languages, and the Department of Medical Laboratory Science. The Colleges hold up to 20 Departments altogether.

The University is Home to Many Scientific Centers such as the Center for Research and Strategic Studies, Centre for Pedagogical Training and Academic Development, Centre for Gender Studies, Faculty Development Centre, Language Centre, Centre of Management of Information System and Communications, and Marketing Centre. The Communications and Marketing Centre has Developed Qalaai Zanist Scientific Journal (QZSJ).

The Council of the Lebanese French University is the supreme and absolute authority in all matters and issues related to the university. It is the body supervising financial, administrative, educational, and scientific research affairs.



  • Asst. Prof. Dr. Amin Salih Mohammed – University President – University Council President.
  • Asst. Prof. Dr. Omer Hamadamin Nuradini – Vice-President for Students Affairs – Member.
  • Asst. Prof. Dr. Rozhan Dizayee – Member.
  • Dr. Nabaz Nawzad Abdulla – Member.
  • Dr. Jawad Hamadamin Issa – Member.
  • Asst. Lect. Zanko Hassan Jawhar – Head of Department of Medical Laboratory Science – Member.


The University Council will Convene at least once a month. Such Meeting will be Correctly Held and Valid only if attended by Two-Thirds of the Council Membership.

The Resolutions of the Council will pass by the Absolute Majority Vote of the Members in Session, and in case of a Tie, The Side on Which the President or the Vice President Votes will prevail.


Pursuant to Article 13 of Law No. 2, 2013, of the Private Universities Law, Issued by the Ministry of Higher Education and Scientific Research in the Kurdistan Region, the University Council will Discharge and Process the Academic, Administrative, and Financial Affairs of the University and See to it that the University’s General Policy is Implemented. To This End, it will:

  • Propose Establishment of New Faculties, Institutions, Divisions, Research Centers, and Support Deanships and Suggest Amendment of their Names, Merging, Consolidation or otherwise Revocation Thereof.
  • Laying the Methodological, Educational and Pedagogical Foundations in a Way That Makes Academic and Educational Activities Consistent and Consistent with the State’s General Policy in the Field of Higher Education.
  • Work to Raise the Level of Education and Scientific Research to Meet the Needs of Development and in Light of the university’s General Policy.
  • Coordination between the Scientific, Educational, and Social Activities of the Faculties, Departments, Programs, and Affiliated Units, and the Strengthening of the University’s Relationship with its Counterparts from Public and Private Universities.
  • Examining what the President of the University Presents to him in Terms of Academic Work.
  • Approve Academic Specializations and Higher Education Programs.
  • Identify Details of the Academic Calendar in Accordance with the Overall Framework for the Beginning and End of the Study Year and Identify the Holidays and Leaves During these Periods.
  • Loan and Second Faculty Members, Assign to Academic Duties, Grant Sabbatical Leaves, and Terminate their Services in Accordance with the Pertinent Regulatory and Administrative Rules.
  • Approve the Curricula, Study Plans, Text Books, and References Based on the Proposals Submitted by the Specialized Faculties and Institutions.
  • Discussing and Reviewing the Annual Report on the University’s Activities and Achievements.
  • Approve the University’s Extracurricular Activity Plans.
  • Resolve Appointment of Faculty Members Based on the recommendations of the Academic Council.

For More Details: